It’s gonna be a Lemsip and rest kind of week for me!

Sneezing, runny eyes, aching bones croaky voice and not really feeling well at all, I set off for Bundanon just the same. I felt and obligation to make an effort to get there as the people there had become my work mates and I didn’t want to let them down. It was still a  great drive down the coast and I arrived to the usual happy faces and warm greetings I had become accustomed to.

It was obvious I was unwell so Mary suggested I didn’t need to stay and they were OK in terms of getting things done so I popped over to see Jim and Saskia to say hello and they could see clearly that I wasn’t in my usual top form and suggested I go home. So I did.

So why would I write about a thing like this on my blog you may be asking?

Communication is important! Sometimes if you are unwell so is staying at home. Considering your workmates and keeping a healthy work environment sometimes means making a sacrifice. The funny thing is the imprint that my previous workplace had left on me in terms of taking time off when I was unwell was not a positive one, so I was unsure of how a day off would have been received in a new work environment.

My new workmates knew that I was unwell. It would be a far wiser thing for me to stay home and recuperate and perform better next week than to struggle through the day and get worse. They supported my decision to trek all the way back home and rest up.

By getting better over the next few days I would be in better shape to help out as a volunteer at the Bundanon Open day on the 2nd of May… ( the following Saturday)

I didn’t need to spread my germs around the participants of the workshops or my fellow workers…… So its back into the LEMSIP for me for a few days, work on my other subjects and get back on top of things for the weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment